Sorry, folks!

I know it’s been a while since my last post, and I promised something AWESOME (well at least I think it’s awesome). In my hopeful mind, there are a million people out there saying, “where the heck are the patterns for the Anchorman cast!?” So for all of you on the edges of your seats*, I apologize for sucking really hard at staying on schedule.

Sometimes life gets in the way of crochet. But I’m going to rationalize this in two ways:

  1. The next pattern I publish is going to be a set of four patterns (four guys from Anchorman – Ron Burgundy, Champ Kind, Brian Fontana, Brick Tamland) and I’m only going to sell it as a set of four because the patterns for each figure are so similar. There are minor adjustments in the bodies, but the basic shapes are the same with a few added accessories. So if I’m making four figures, I should theoretically have four weeks to publish the pattern, right?
  2. I’m also making a piece for Bad Habit Productions‘s production of Top Girls. They are having local artists create pieces representing influential women throughout history to display on and around the stage. My piece will be a crochet interpretation of Georgia O’Keeffe’s “Cow’s Skull with Calico Roses.” It’ll be all intarsia-y (kind of lime the Richard Nixon piece** I created for another production of theirs) with some 3-D elements. I’m planning to make the roses pop off of the piece. I’m working on a chart for myself, and plan to sell the pattern when it’s done! The piece is due March 7, so it’s become a bit of a priority! And I plan on buying it back this time – the Nixon piece was sold before I could snag it for myself!

So those are good excuses, right? Right. I’ve been skiing for the past two weekends and thus losing most of my crochet time, but those two excuses somehow feel more valid than saying “sorry, I’ve been going up and down mountains for a while.”

At least I’ve made progress! Ron and Champ are finished as is Brick’s body! I’m still contemplating how to finish Brick’s hair. Let me tell you – hair is a time consuming little bugger! Ron’s hair took me five hours (Ooh! That can be excuse number three!).

So stay tuned! I haven’t disappeared – I’m just working slowly.

* I realize that there’s probably only like two people who saw my last post. And I’m sure neither of them are on the edges of their seats waiting for the patterns to be completed.

** You want to see my Richard Nixon piece, right? Ask and ye shall receive!

943437_2024420173721_1324971815_n2

About Allison McDonough

Bostonian with a love of crochet, theatre and DIY Crafts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment